Watch ‘Forgotten Promises’ (Live) now

Posted on November 5th, 2017



Download/Stream the album here
Buy the DVD+CD here

Composed, arranged and performed by Sami Yusuf
English words by Will Knox
Arabic words by Dr. Shihab Ghanem
Mode: Ionian


Tonight the world will sleep
But hunger will not wait
For promises we made
We share one soul
We share one land
We have one time
to understand

We are one humankind
Brothers side by side
We’ll have no regret
We will not forget
We are one humankind
Sisters side by side
We’ll have no regret
We will not forget

Forgive us, O God
Have mercy on us, O Lord
Give your bounty to the mouths
And keep away from them all grievances and sighs

Our words must count
Hunger will not wait
For promises we made

Performers (From right to left):

Seyyed Mohammad Jaberi: Daf, Bendir, Dayre & Vocals
Ömer Avci: Dohol, Bendir, Kudum & Vocals
Abbas Karacan: Bass Darabuka, Bendir & Tef
Mustafa Olgan: Qanun & Vocals
Selim Boyaci: Oud & Vocals
Seyed Ali Jaberi: Tanbour, Tar & Vocals
Türker Dinletir: Ney, Zourna & vocals
Adem Tosunoglu: Baglama, Tanbur, Kemançe & Vocals
Farshad Mohammadi: Santoor & Vocals
Jon Lawton: Classical Guitar, Tanbour & Vocals


Sami Yusuf: Vocal, Piano, Tar, Oud & Tonbak

Backing Vocalists (From the right):

Sami Mohammad Ahmad Alhaj: Bass
AbdulRazzak Barma: Baritone
Abeer El Sayed Ahmad: Mezzo-Soprano
Nancy Al Baltaji: Contra-Alto

Executive Producers: Ahmed Salim, Sami Yusuf, Christine Hoechstoetter

Recording Engineer: Peter Herrmann
Mixed and Mastered by Vishnu Rajan @ Andante Studios
Video Editing and Postproduction by Omar Habib @ Andante Studios
Colour Grading @ Elements Cine Productions
Filmed by 2Shoes (London, UK)

Graphic Design & Artwork: Kwame Busia
Additional Graphics & Design: Mahdi Jahangir

The DVD (+ Audio CD) includes 19 tracks, 4 Bonus tracks + Behind The Scenes, Exclusive Interview with Sami Yusuf as well as a beautifully designed comprehensive booklet with detailed descriptions for all songs.

Buy the DVD+CD here